Friday, July 1, 2022
HomeNewsZelenskyy and Liz Cheney honored with JFK profile in Courage Awards

Zelenskyy and Liz Cheney honored with JFK profile in Courage Awards


Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy and Rep. Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.) were named Thursday recipients of the 2022 John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award, which is given for “their courage in protecting and defending democracy.”

On its website, the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation praised Zelensky for his “courageous defense of democratic ideals and political independence,” adding, “His principled leadership has strengthened the resolve of Ukrainians and the peoples of world to protect and defend the fragile human. right to self-determination”.

As for Cheney, she “remains a cohesive and courageous voice in defense of democracy” and “has stood firm with honor and conviction” regarding former President Donald Trump’s efforts to overturn the results of the 2020 election. , noted the foundation.

The foundation also named three other winners, the first time it has done so. They are Michigan Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson (D), Arizona House Speaker Russell “Rusty” Bowers (R) and Wandrea “Shaye” Moss, an employee of the county election department of Fulton, Georgia. Like Cheney, each has been credited with resisting pressure from Trump regarding his baseless allegations of voter fraud.

Calling the award a “tremendous honour”, Cheney described the world as being in a state of “maximum danger to the cause of freedom”.

“President Zelenskyy and the people of Ukraine are teaching a new generation of Americans what our founding fathers learned firsthand: absolute and uncompromising courage in the face of tyranny,” she wrote in a statement released Thursday. . “In America, we’ve also seen how fragile our democratic institutions can be, and we’ve learned that they don’t fight back.”

“We – each of us – have to do it,” she added.

The Profile in Courage award was created in 1989 to recognize public servants “whose actions demonstrate the qualities of politically courageous leadership”. It takes its name from Kennedy’s 1956 book describing the acts of bravery and integrity of eight US senators.

The winners are selected each year by a bipartisan committee. Last year’s recipient was Sen. Mitt Romney (R-Utah), who was recognized for his “courageous” vote to impeach Trump for abuse of power. Other past recipients include House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-California) and former Presidents Barack Obama and George HW Bush.


If you have any query regarding content, please comment below. Thanks

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments